Coding has changed my life…

by Catherine Soriano Luna

Coding itself is not a hard task at all. That is, if the sentence under scrutiny falls neatly into a category, which is almost never the case. I have had a hard time determining whether or not a certain remark should be coded. I have spent, what has felt like hours, staring at the screen and deciding whether to code something this or that. The process can be frustrating, but it can also be rewarding. At the end, once the coding has been finished, I begin to see patterns and I catch a glimpse of the lives behind the codes. I remind myself these words belong to a group of people far from here, who are experiencing life in a different way than I am. Can I imagine myself going through their day-to-day lives? I cannot, but I beginning to understand where they come from and to appreciate their lifestyle. It is not the type of insight I experience in the classroom where we spend most of our time talking about theory (which is not my strongest suit). If classes dealt more with how things are (and with real, living people), then I’d be much more engaged. As it is, I have only a screen to turn to for a deeper understanding of human life.
As much as I would like to spend my time just reading the interviews, I have to deal with the technical side of things. The program we are using (MAXQDA) has done a good job of providing us the tools for coding, however, I wish I could organize things just a bit more than is currently allowed. I spent an hour ‘playing’ with the program and pressing random buttons in the hope that I would get the hang of it. Needless to say, an hour passed and I was no more informed than when I had started (though to be fair, I did learn how to alphabetize codes and use memos…really useful stuff). Spending more time on video tutorials will be necessary in the foreseeable future. I just hope it’ll be a lot easier to navigate the website than the program itself. If there is one great pleasure I partake in, it is in choosing the colors for the codes. I am easily amused. “Should I choose light blue or sky blue?” Very important decisions to be made for sure. And as the margins fill with color, the patterns begin to rise. And that has made all the difference.
real life safari
About ljshaffer

I am an ecological anthropologist. I work with people living in southern Mozambique on issues of indigenous knowledge, responses and adaptation to environmental change. I spend a lot of time talking about elephants, crops, conservation, and sustainability.

Posted on October 13, 2014, in anthropology, education, life, research and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

